Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the Latest Giveaway coming soon

Trike Freewheel Replacement [Solved]
A neighbor has a trike with 20" wheels. Last weekend the freewheel failed, so she brought the trike to me because she knows I like doing mechanical work on bikes. Another of her neighbors had a look at it and decided it was beyond him. I've never worked on a trike, before, and after looking it over I decided it might be best to take it to a bike shop. Because of the virus problem, a lot of people are buying bikes or having theirs fixed up. I took it to one shop and after checking it over said they can't do it. I think, though, it was more like they didn't want to do it, and I wouldn't blame them if that was the case.

They are extremely busy with repairs, and they are not allowing anyone inside the shop. By the back door they have a canopy and a table, and that's where you take your bike. They took this trike inside, brought it out and said they can't do it. They have a new freewheel, though but I didn't buy it because I didn't know if another bike shop could fix it, or if I'd end up doing it, myself.

A second bike shop was too busy, having thirty bikes lined up for repair, and told me to call back next week. But they might have thirty more lined up by next week. I think when I mentioned 'trike' it makes mechanics cringe.

In the meanwhile my neighbor is really missing her trike. She doesn't drive a car, so the trike is her only transport in our community. So I decided to take the plunge. First of all, I searched the Internet for a trike freewheel. No such thing, at least not what I thought it was supposed to look like. An adapter is available but what good was that?