Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Shifting between first and second
I'm a real novice at this so please make allowances! I was having trouble (front derailleur) shifting up from first to second. When I flicked the shift lever into 2nd, the cage would move across seemingly correctly, but the chain would struggle, make a lot of noise and refuse to shift up. If I pushed the shift lever over a little more - towards 3rd - and held it for a couple of seconds, the chain would move up on to 2nd position and stay there OK. I tried to correct this by increasing the tension a little on the shift wire. The result of that was that it shifts up to 2nd correctly, but won't go down to first. I thought, well OK, I must have over-tensioned it. So I released a tiny bit and retried - only to find I'd gone back to my initial position. I've been doing my head in, several times over increasing and reducing the tension, but I always end up with one problem or its opposite. What am I missing? Any help appreciated.
First, is this a recent occurrence, and if so, did it start after any type of maintenance or accident?

Secondly, the front derailleur must be properly positioned before adjusting - see http://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-help/front-derailleur-adjustments for full instructions on setting height and rotation as well as limits and cable "tension." If still a problem your derailleur may have developed play in the pivots.

You should also check the BB bearings to make sure they have no play.
I made the mistake of lending my bike to a friend. It was fine before that but when I got it back, I noticed the problem straightaway. He claimed he had no problem with it but something must have happened while it was in his care - I just don't know what.