Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon

Chain skips under heavy load when pedalling
Hey. My 1x mountain bike has been very reliable for over 2+ years, with no problems whatsoever. But recently I have been annoyed by chain skipping when under heavier load. Honestly, I have not changed the chain, nor chainrings. I have some experience with 2x and 3x front chainring drivetrain systems but 1x is still new to me. What would be your first move? I don't think that the cassette is worn out.
  • inspect the chain and chain wear?
  • adjust the rear derailleur?
Merida Scultura 5000 (2015)
Merida Big Nine 400 (2019)
(10-13-2021, 04:59 PM)Zviedrs Wrote:  Hey. My 1x mountain bike has been very reliable for over 2+ years, with no problems whatsoever. But recently I have been annoyed by chain skipping when under heavier load. Honestly, I have not changed the chain, nor chainrings. I have some experience with 2x and 3x front chainring drivetrain systems but 1x is still new to me. What would be your first move? I don't think that the cassette is worn out.

how much the chain in worn out?
do you have a caliper? it would be more accurate: check if the caliper set up at 133mm can be inserted or worse if it can move freely
for those who stumble upon this thread and are wondering how to check for chain wear: https://www.bikeride.com/chain-wear/
Also consider your chain is too long and needs to be cut shorter.

This always happens to me on my single speed with a bolt-on chain tensioner when I add a new chain and don't cut it tight enough.

Reason for this being, I previously bent the rear axle on this bike from running it without a tensioner with the chain way tight. Trying to prevent this from happening again as I'm a Clydesdale and tend to get up on it HeYAW!