Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Replacing V-brakes, now confused.
http://imgur.com/a/SGOXi#0

I have a bike I've been using for a year that I got for free. Recently the brakes stopped working. I'm a poor-of-the-poor college student majoring in something totally unrelated to bicycle repair and don't know what I'm doing.

The not-well-treated-before-I-got-it bike was a Huffy Stalker (thus why I got it for free). It has no cantilever mounts, thus the adapter plate.

I don't know what I'm doing. The paper instructions are esoteric and now I don't even understand videos online.

Help meeeee. I mean, uh, please.

Right now I have $35 as my spending budget and may or may not get any more for the next few months.

If you'd like the images inline here I can put them in image tags, too.
Hi,

Basically you fit the U shaped part to the standard brake hole at the top of the forks, or on the seat stay bridge, if it's being fitted to the rear, using the long bolt. The V brake arms then fit on the cantilever bosses on the U shaped part, then set up as normal for V brakes.

Brakes can be fiddly to set up if you're not sure what you're doing, do you have any friends or relatives that are cyclists and that might be able to help you out and give you some pointers?
BTW, it looks to me like you have one brake cable and one gear cable in your pictures. Make sure you use the thicker brake cable, not the thinner gear one.
Also, did you get a lever with the kit? V brakes need a specific V brake lever, the pivot is in a different place to other brake levers and if you use a standard brake lever with a V brake it will work, but you have to pull the lever a lot further and it will possibly touch the handlebar before the brake is fully applied.