Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon

Question about Leg Shaving
So as a newbie, i think the best way to blend in quickly is by Shaving my legs to give me a pro-like identity.

The follow-up question would be relating to the long-term commitment issues of shaving.

So to those of you who SHAVES, is shaving a long-term thing once you started? Shaving repeatedly sounds like an annoying thing to me.

And would you be open to methods that could lead to permanent hair reduction (e.g. laser)?

Much appreciated to yours responses.
Just my opinion, but I wouldn't want to look like a pro, when I'm clearly not. Even if I dress the part, a real pro would know, and think I am one of those know-it-alls, and wouldn't share or point out my obvious [to him or her] mistakes.
I'd rather look like what I am, and take the chance that a pro passes me and thinks "oooh, look at the newbie". Even if they never give me a wave, at least they'd laugh less. Don't be afraid to look like who you are. - unless you're in a bad neighborhood - then you want to look like the terminator.

My real bike is a trek, but I ride on a fat tire fold-up. I don't care what people think. I also have a new electronic Juki, but I travel with a 1930's model sewing machine, that i modified into a hand crank.
Don't let the "equipment snobs" spoil your fun!
(07-15-2021, 11:58 PM)Paul Smit Wrote:  So as a newbie, i think the best way to blend in quickly is by Shaving my legs to give me a pro-like identity.

The follow-up question would be relating to the long-term commitment issues of shaving.

So to those of you who SHAVES, is shaving a long-term thing once you started? Shaving repeatedly sounds like an annoying thing to me.

And would you be open to methods that could lead to permanent hair reduction (e.g. laser)?

Much appreciated to yours responses.