Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Removing bolt from crank
I'm looking to take apart the bottom bracket on this 80's Supercycle. I'm having a difficult time removing the bolt from the crank. I managed to get the one out by pounding it with a hammer like a caveman.

However the bolt on the otherside won't even budge and I'm thinking there has to be an easier way. Any suggestions?

The crank does not run smoothly so I'm anticipating replacing after inspection. But I'm new to this and would appreciate any insight or info regarding the spindle or what I need to keep in mind.

Thanks!
You have what is called a cottered crank!!! Banging them with a hammer like a caveman works lol. There are easier ways but kinda expensive! Here is an excellent and much easier way to remove them... http://sheldonbrown.com/cotters.html .
Good maintenance to your Bike, can make it like the wheels are, true and smooth!
Yeh thats an old crank, if budget allows replace with sealed bottom bracket and a new sprockets and pedals. It is likely your BB races are worn. If OK clean and than replace bearings and use good marine bearing grade grease.

AS per removal soak overnight with a penetrating oil. Than try again. Heating pedal around the pin, not the pin will help too.

Use a block of wood to hammer on, do not hammer directly on pin.
Never Give Up!!!
As Bill noted, read this:

http://sheldonbrown.com/cotters.html

Base on the appearance of the cotter you have removed, I would surmise that the other one is toast too from not being periodically tightened. I doubt penetrating oil will make any difference.

As noted above; if at all possible within your budget, replace the cottered system with cotterless.
Nigel