Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Grip shifters too hard too shift?
Hi everyone,

I've recently been trying to fix my bike, it has a shimano derailleur. I'm fairly new to this stuff, so I tried looking up on youtube how to adjust the back gears. I can adjust the cable to become more tense or loose. The problem I'm having is that when it's tense, the grip shift won't turn, if it's too loose, the grip shift turn easily but the gears don't move from lowest to highest and vice versa.

I'm thinking it could be a problem with the grip shift? Or is there something I'm doing wrong?

Thanks for any help in advance!
Is the cable free of movement if you remove the cable screw on the rear derailleur??
Can be the shifter or housing...

What kind of grip shifter you got on that bike? Post a picture if possible

Good luck!
Thanks for the reply!

So here's a picture.

There is one screw that if I loosen it, the cable becomes free and yes I can pull it a bit to make the tension tighter, or looser when I screw it back on. Also, when I pull on the cable from the middle parts of the cable, the derailleur does move to shift gears if the cable is tense, just not from the shifter, the shifter barely spins. If the cable is loose, the shifter can spin, but the derailleur doesn't move.

Hope this information helps.
Cable must be jammed inside of the shifter, or internals are mucked with grease or mud

What's the make/model of your shifter?? Doesn't look like a Shimano or Sram??

If you can find some pics or manuals on the Net, it can help you solve this case!
It's a cheaper bike, so probably not a brand name shifter. Is it an easy fix if I was to open up my shifter and clean it up?
(11-28-2011, 11:53 PM)custom1 Wrote:  It's a cheaper bike, so probably not a brand name shifter. Is it an easy fix if I was to open up my shifter and clean it up?