Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

New (to me) bike, but suspension is shot
Hi all, my father in law recently let me use his older model Trek 9800 bike.

I aired up the tires, and replaced the chain but when I took it out for a test run something wasn't right. It was riding way too hard.

So after some research and inspection I found that the front shocks were totally hosed.

The bike uses a Judy XC front end, from what I can find the Judy series really were not that great to begin with. So if I have to spend money to rebuild/repair would I be better off getting a more modern fork for the bike off of eBay or something?

Not really sure what direction I need to go with it because I am a total noob.

Thanks for suggestions.

Ryan
From what I found this is a high end carbon bike and definitely worth fixing up. The shock seem rebuildable so you can do it or send it to a rebuilder. Getting a replacement fork needs some knowledge to get the right size one. Also doable. Its all good and worth doing. Contact Rock Shocks and see if they offer rebuilds or talk to your local bike dealer as removal of fork takes some knowledge.

Do not know why you found the ride so harsh as lots of bikes have rigid forks.I think of harsh as being stiff so maybe its corroded and stock if by harsh you mean bouncy and bottoming out than maybe it needs to be pumped up with air. Do not know if this shock uses air or springs or elastic. Check what kind of shock it is. Were you riding off road?

http://www.mtb-kataloge.de/Bikekataloge/PDF/Manuals/judyxc.pdf
Never Give Up!!!
(10-17-2010, 07:01 PM)rpalmertree Wrote:  Hi all, my father in law recently let me use his older model Trek 9800 bike.

I aired up the tires, and replaced the chain but when I took it out for a test run something wasn't right. It was riding way too hard.