Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Rear derailleur pulley sticking when pedaling in reverse
Just bought a bike a few weeks ago. Nothing fancy, but one with 7 speeds. I recently adjusted the derailleur as it was not shifting to all the gears. It took some doing as I am not experienced with this kind of thing. I got through it, but now after going out for a short ride my chain fell off after I pedaled in reverse (I think). After putting the chain back on I pedaled in reverse on a stand and found that the pulley was sticking and pulling forward toward the front of the bike, thus making the chain longer than necessary. Normally nothing should happen with the derailleur when you pedal in reverse right?? I only go in reverse when going down a hill to readjust my feet positions. Any ideas?? Do I just need to lubricate the pulley?
... nothing should happen with the derailleur when you pedal in reverse right?? I only go in reverse when going down a hill to readjust my feet positions. Any ideas?? Do I just need to lubricate the pulley?

You are correct in that nothing should derail by pedaling backward. But (and there is always a big but) it is probably more a matter of 'fine tuned' adjustments. Your chainring and cassette teeth are designed to rotate in one direction for shifting. Perhaps I am not understanding why you need to back-pedal to adjust foot position.
Wheelies don't pop themselves. (from a QBP fortune cookie)
(10-06-2010, 10:19 PM)RobAR Wrote:  ... nothing should happen with the derailleur when you pedal in reverse right?? I only go in reverse when going down a hill to readjust my feet positions. Any ideas?? Do I just need to lubricate the pulley?