Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Deep paint scratch or frame crack?
Hi, everyone! I'd like to ask you about your opinion on whether or not this is just a deep scratch (scuff?) on the paint or a crack on the frame of my aluminium road bike (please see photos below). For context, the area shown on the photos would be the seat tube, right about where it is joined by the seat stays. I already did the "coin soundcheck" test to help me diagnose the problem but I'm still not convinced by it. Anyway, the sound coming from the alleged crack as well as nearby parts of the frame i.e. the seat tube, seat stays, and top tube were the same. Also, the "crack" did not flex or show signs of movement when I smacked my butt on the saddle a few times. While both tests lean away from a case of structural damage on my frame, I fear that I am not experienced or knowledgeable enough to conclude anything yet.

Your expert opinions on how to go about this would definitely give me peace of mind.

-Z

(12-05-2020, 11:43 AM)Zenifir Wrote:  Hi, everyone! I'd like to ask you about your opinion on whether or not this is just a deep scratch (scuff?) on the paint or a crack on the frame of my aluminium road bike (please see photos below). For context, the area shown on the photos would be the seat tube, right about where it is joined by the seat stays. I already did the "coin soundcheck" test to help me diagnose the problem but I'm still not convinced by it. Anyway, the sound coming from the alleged crack as well as nearby parts of the frame i.e. the seat tube, seat stays, and top tube were the same. Also, the "crack" did not flex or show signs of movement when I smacked my butt on the saddle a few times. While both tests lean away from a case of structural damage on my frame, I fear that I am not experienced or knowledgeable enough to conclude anything yet.