Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the Latest Giveaway coming soon

Colnago restoration
Hi everyone. A bit repetitive from my intro in GF, but this is the correct section for this post. I’m new to vintage bikes, but I’ve been eyeing a vintage Colnago to restore for a long time. Finally found one and the timing was right to pull the trigger. I’m still trying to identify the exact year, but from my research it’s 1991-1993 Colnago Super PiU. Mostly original, I think, apart from the headset, pedals, and seat I assume. Not sure about the top derailleur either. I did order a 1990s era Campagnolo headset and pedals as I embark on the restoration. I know nothing about restoring a bike other than the 100s of YouTube videos I’ve watched. Here goes nothing!

Oh, if you’ve got a better idea on the exact year of the bike, let me know! Also, does that top derailleur look like part of the original Campagnolo set? Is it the Chorus line? Thanks!

Luka

Attached Files Image(s)

I'm not sure that it is a Super model. Did they change tubing for Supers in the 90s? 60s through late 80s had Columbus sl tubing.

The front derailleur is unknown to me. All the Campagnolo units I have seen have logo marked cages. It looks like a nice one aside from the cage damage (limit screw improperly set).
I believe they introduced Thron tubing in the 90s, but don’t know about the Super line. I just see that it says Super on the sticker, and matches some of the Super PiU pics I’ve been able to find online. Identification is still a work in progress I guess.
Brakes and rear derailleur look like Campagnolo Athena circa early-mid '90s. Front mech is Shimano 105 from same era.

Lovely frame! Nice tube set. Should be a lot of fun reviving that bike.

Thron is a mid-high range tubeset made from Cyclex. As it was introduced in the mid-90s, I assume that lowers your frame's age slightly.