Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

We can rebuild him...the life and death of the red herring
I bought a beautiful old carbon fiber bike off of eBay and have ridden many good miles on it. I call it the Red Herring. It is the Aegis Aro Svelte (aegisbicycles.com/arosvelte.html‎), model year circa 1998 (?). While I was riding around Manhattan recently, the frame broke where it connects to the rear axle. It is not the carbon fiber that broke but a small attachment that sticks out of the carbon fiber and connects to the wheel axle. This piece is a different type of metal. I am not an expert but I think it's aluminum. It is the same as this frame from another Aegis model: http://www.pbase.com/headmaster/aegis_bike&page=all).

You can see the break on my bike in the attached pictures.

I took my bike to the store assuming it would be an easy fix involving some welding, but they told me the whole bike is totaled. I am heartbroken. This bike means everything to me and I cannot afford to buy another bike before my next triathlon. Does anyone know where or how I might get this fixed?

Thanks very much,
John
That frame is toasted... they told you right. Actually your lucky the breakage did not injure you.. count yourself lucky in that regard.

Carbon bikes are accidents waiting to happen. Many of those incidents mean serious injury. When carbon forks go.. it's usually NOW. Your on your face.. or worse.
Hi John;

The frame is scrap. When the frame was built, the carbon was wrapped around the aluminum dropout, which cannot be removed without destroying the carbon. Any attempt to weld the aluminum will also destroy the carbon.

I would suggest contacting the manufacturer to ask about a replacement frame, and/or look at other frames and swap the components to the other frame.
Nigel
(11-19-2013, 12:59 PM)nfmisso Wrote:  Hi John;