Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

26 1 3/4 Spokes
I just Picked up a CCM Sunsport with 26 1 3/4 wheels with a few broken spokes. I'm new to bike repair and cant quite figure out which size of spoke I should replace them with. Any help would be very appreciated!
remove a good spoke and take to bike shop and they can measure for you. Your front wheel spokes should be the same on each side, the rear may be different on the drive and non drive side. Since you were vague as to which ones were broke,keep that in mind and mark them with tape as to front, rear, and side they came off.
There are two kinds of people in the world, "Those who help themselves to people, and those who help people!"
(03-10-2013, 07:37 PM)painkiller Wrote:  remove a good spoke and take to bike shop and they can measure for you. Your front wheel spokes should be the same on each side, the rear may be different on the drive and non drive side. Since you were vague as to which ones were broke,keep that in mind and mark them with tape as to front, rear, and side they came off.

Both are actually broken, and I'm looking to figure it out myself. A reference guide I found online mentioned high and low flange with a three or four cross for the wheel but I dont know how to figure which one I have.
It sounds like you have a bad built set of wheels or wheel, they are like shoe strings in this case as in the others are going to break when you least expect it. I would recommend a new set as building them may be beyond your scope of expertise, lack of proper tools and so on.