Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Cassette wobble
Hi,
I am a newbie to bike repair, i took up the job of restoring an old touring bike just as a run around. I had a problem with the back axle in that the thread was wrecked, i borrowed an axle from an old mountain bike but i am worried my choice is too incompatible.
Anyway, the resulting problem is significant sideways movement in the cassette, independent of the wheel. Is it not tight enough? is the wheel broken where it attaches to the cassette? i don't have the tools to remove the cassette yet, i'm waiting to figure out a diagnosis so that i know whether it is fixable by myself or whether i need to take it into a bike shop? anyway, any info on the cassette being loose and what you think might have happened would be useful, thanks for reading

Hard to diagnose just from your description, but here's a few things to look at.<br />
- Are you sure it is a cassette and not a freewheel?<br />
- Is the cassette moving independent of the hub (and not just the axle being loose)?<br />
- Are the cassette cogs themselves moving on the freehub (the part with the ratchet) or is the whole assembly moving? You should be able to tell if the right end of the hub where it sits around the axle is moving also (this is actually the freehub)<br />
- Does anything change when you tighten/loosen/remove the axle?
Just swapping an axle shouldn't have affected this, but maybe something is going on.

Thanks for your help so far, I am going to try and answer those questions
1. You are right, i believe it is a freewheel not a cassette
2. The freewheel seems to be moving independently of the hub
3. The whole assembly is moving.
4. The hub does not seem to be moving