Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Glazed pads/rotors
Hi folks,

So, I'm new to disc brakes and didn't get the memo about "burning" them in. I've gone about 400+ miles of city riding now and my brakes have been screeching quite a lot. Took the pads off today and they look pretty "glazed."

What I want to know is: has anyone had luck sanding the pads/rotors and cleaning them or do I really need to buy new pads? I keep coming across conflicting opinions elsewhere on the internet. It would be great to hear about some of your experiences.

Thanks!
Sand them a bit with 120 grit sand paper, so you can remove glaze on it!!!
Do not have discs on my bike, but my motorcycle does. On motorcycle couple fast hard stops would break them in and also clear the glaze.

You can also clean them with sandpaper but on a very flat surface like glass plate or a machined steel plate. Marble counter top when the wife is out. :-)) You can go with 80 grit.Tape it down and do figure 8 with the pads . Than clean the discs and pads off with brake cleaning solvent available at at automotive shops. Be careful around paint with it. Use in ventilated space do not smoke. Read label. You can also clean all the disc holes if your disc has them with q tips and solvent. Do nor drag the brakes.
Never Give Up!!!
It is entierly possible you've more than just glazed them, you may have contaminated pads.