Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Wheels stolen off my Nishiki Performance Equipe Sport
Hey everyone! This is my first time repairing this bike. I’ve done basic maintenance (new tape, tubes, tires)... but then the wheels were stolen!

I really enjoy the aesthetic of this bike and I’m hoping the repairs will be possible. I’ll definitely need some direction on what parts to look for and how to approach this. Here is what I’m working with.

Nishiki Performance Equipe Sport
See image here: https://www.pedalroom.com/bike/nishiki-performance-equipe-sport-30102

Frame:
Cromoly 4130
Derailleurs/Shifters:
Shimano Exage (rear), Shimano Deore XT (front)
Brakes:
Shimano Exage
Front Wheel/Hub/Tire:
27"
Rear Wheel/Hub/Tire:
27"

I’d love to match the original wheels, but I’m mostly concerned about finding the right type of wheels with the right cassette. There’s a bike yard here called the 3rd Ward Bike Shop where they sell old parts for cheap, so I’m hopeful I can find something there... but it operates like any other junk yard - you dig around and pick out what you want. Any idea what I should be looking for?
When you say match, If you do not know what the rims were and even if you did, they could have been replaced also. With that said. To me a match would be more to the hubs than the rim itself. It mentions "Exage" and "XT". This should be your baseline to "Match". Look for any good used Shimano Exage hub or better wheelset. That will accept the proper number of speeds of which I hope you know. Rear spacing
should also match.
There are two kinds of people in the world, "Those who help themselves to people, and those who help people!"