Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Weld? Detached rear stays.
Hi, Im new to the forums.
I've got an old road bike that I've grown fond of over the past year of riding it daily but before Christmas I got back to the train station, unlocked it, pulled it out of a tangle with another bike/the and found my bike as seen in the picture attached.

The orange/copper coloured mark near the seat-post nut is where they used to be attached and its the same with both stays.

The bike is nothing pretty and neither is it worth anything but its incredibly useful and proving rather difficult to look for a replacement. Im a student and want to get the most out of what I've got. I also don't really have the money to replace it.

If anyone has experience of having had something welded or even knowledge of welders in Lancashire that would be great.
Yes it can be repaired, It should b brazed not welded. It may need realigned if not properly jigged when repaired. then it will need painted. expect to pay around $100 for the frame to be brazed
There are two kinds of people in the world, "Those who help themselves to people, and those who help people!"
Definitely like Pk said, won't be cheap. Although here is an idea for you. You said you are a student? If so then contact this place as it is a school for welders and in my experience some schools welcome new projects for the students. They may charge a small fee, but it is an option. Here is there website and I hope this is the Lancashire you are from....
http://www.lancashireschoolofwelding.co.uk/

By the way I do not know anyone at this school I just found it on the internet searching.
Good maintenance to your Bike, can make it like the wheels are, true and smooth!