Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Bicycle upgrade suggestions?
Hi,

I am a fairly new user here, have been participating in the tires forum a bit, but I am considering a bicycle upgrade and I am looking for suggestions. Here's what I have used and my routine so far:

I have a 26" Roadmaster Mt. Fury. I initially purchased it 10 years ago and it sat until last year when I decided to try and start using it for weight loss and conditioning purposes. After 8 months of riding, I had lost close to 60 lbs, and felt like I was in pretty good shape. I usually ride in the lowest highest gear setting and keep it that way. 90 miles or less a week. This bike is a mountain bike, but I road it on the roads and it was a challenge because of the frame's heaviness and the knobby tires. These characteristics made riding, especially pedalling, a lot more difficult, but over time as I lost weight, riding became easier and now it's not much trouble.

Over the months, the sprocket areas have become quite rusted, along with the chain, and the gear shifter became inoperable. I also have only one set of brakes and they're not in the greatest shape. Granted I can't go very fast on this heavy monster, averaging about 12 mph. I'm also on my 3rd set of tires. Because of the wear I'm seeing over a fairly short period of time, I am considering an upgrade to a better bicycle and I don't want to spend a fortune. My goals are that I'd like to basically keep the mountain type of bike for the roads, but have less physical wear and tare and better lasting tires.

This bike was $74 new. If possible, I'd like to stay within a $250-350 range for an upgrade. Finding something on sale at a higher price reduced to this range would be ideal also.

What does the group recommend?

Thanks in advance,
Josephine