Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon

How high can I safely adjust saddle height?
I'm a starving student. I'm stuck in a foreign city for one semester. My savvy craigslist $20 purchase is a wee bit small. It's too short for my legs but the smaller frame is comfortable for my arms.

I understand how much leg extension I need - how high can I extend the seatpost? If I extend it past the max height line, but keep the post inserted enough that it's a few mm past the ears, what can go wrong?
Well a few mm is just not enough, the leverage of the seat post may become to great for the frame.
The lean to the handlebars too extreme.

Get use to riding BMX style . Its only for one semester. Sometimes savvy is not enough. If you absolutely have too try a longer seat post.
IMO its done learn to live with it, unless it causes you pain.
Never Give Up!!!
If the seat is too low then you knacker your knees, and very quickly.
(we are going to have a lot of people who will need knee operations soon.)
On the other hand if you take it beyond the "max" mark then you do so at your own risk.
If you have any cycling buddies will they do a swap if you can find a suitably longer one?
Ride hard or ride home alone!
Thank you. I've never heard of a bent frame but I'd hate to impale myself. It's tempting to disregard unknown physics. BMX style it is, then. 15 weeks to go.

(01-30-2011, 04:00 PM)GeorgeET Wrote:  Well a few mm is just not enough, the leverage of the seat post may become to great for the frame.
The lean to the handlebars too extreme.
Ye that seems the easiest solution. We got lots of guys around here riding on 20 inch kids bikes.:-))

BMX bikes are very popular in Venice California.

As per bend frame they do bend and crack .
Never Give Up!!!
you can purchase 400mm seat posts for under $20.