Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon

Best winter bike protection ideas
I've started commuting through the winter, and I'm looking for what others do to keep their bike protected from the elements. I've installed fenders, which are a *big* help. But in my city, the city spreads a lot of salt on the roads, and that's what I worry about the most.

When I worked in a factory about 30 years ago, we often keep new metal stock outdoors, and we would spray it with a product called LPS-3. The manufacturer makes 3 products (1, 2, & 3), and with different lubricating properties and viscosities. LPS-3 is the thickest and after the solvent dries from the spray can, all that is left is a waxy film which seems to protect metal from rust for many months. I also used to use it for bike chain lubrication. Now I'm thinking about spraying the entire bike down with this product, except for things like tires, saddle, brake shoes, etc.

So I'm just looking for what others have used that have proven effective in protecting the bike from the harshest winter forces, especially raod salt.
I would recommend getting fenders
The quieter you become the more you are able to hear
Yes, as I said, I've already done that. Smile
Thank you.
Yes, as I said, I've already done that.

Did you coat the undersides of the fenders with LPS3?
I'm sorry to report that you have a daily maintenance schedule in your future. Salt on Any material is much harsher than Mud. Mountain-bikers detest mud stuck to Anything on the bike.
Wheelies don't pop themselves. (from a QBP fortune cookie)
RobAR, the fenders are polycarbonate with stainless steel hardware, so I'm not sure if the LPS product would help any.