Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Old derailleur newbie question
Hi,

I just picked up an 1980s Schwinn 10 speed and I'm a novice fixer. I took off the rear wheel and the derailleur came off as well, and I can't for the life of me figure out how to get them back on. The derailleur was attached with a screw which runs through a semi-circle nut. I can't figure out where to put this--there are no holes for it.

I'm sure this would be really simple for anyone's who's touched an older bike, but like I said, I'm new.

Thanks!

ps--sorry about the quality of the picture--no lights in the garage yet
Hmmm........... Looks like the derailleur hangs on the axle under the big nut and the half moon plate goes behind or in front of the hanger and the half moon plate rotates and as acts as a derailleur stop that you can set by
rotating it against the axle. Cant tell how long the screw is but it nests in the slot .

Here are some photos that might help. I tell everyone to take photos or video as they disassemble things. I usually listen to myself. I was working on my wifes vintage coaster brake wheel and was to greasy to grab a camera. Man took me a while to figure out how it goes back. :-)))

http://www.trfindley.com/flschwinn_1971_1980/sc_376_huret_gt510_sa_s3c.html

http://www.trfindley.com/flschwinn_1971_1980/1980_06.html

http://bikeride.com/adjust-rear-derailleur/
Never Give Up!!!
The plate usually goes on the outside of the rear dropout.
this is a standard set up for non alloy frames, remove rear wheel and position the hanger over the drop out slot with the half moon nut at the back, tighten screw making sure the flat is towards the open end and that the 2 slots are lined up. now refit your wheel.
Thank you all.

George--yes, of course I always take pictures except when I should haveSmile