Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the Latest Giveaway coming soon

Looking to get my first proper bike, I'm lost.
Hey all,

I'm new to cycling and I want to upgrade my very heavy, unfun to ride, city bike, because I want to get into cycling some more!
I plan to ride mostly on asphalt, but also the occasional forest road/light gravel road.

So optimally I'd like a Triban GRVL 120 which would be kinda my budget limit with 630€.
Since that bike doesn't seem to be available anywhere and other gravel bikes are way too expensive for my budget, I started looking at road bikes instead.

Then there's the Triban RC 100 which is actually available for shipping, but I worry about the quality of the bike, and the gear shifter being in the middle seems very awkward to use?

I was told I'd get way better deals looking at used bikes, but that is proving to be quite difficult as I do not have a lot of knowledge about bikes.

On ebay I found this bike listed as "Aluminium Ultegra Road Bike" for 500€. It's 56cm so I think it would fit me, I can also test ride it. Thoughts on this? How is the quality, condition, etc.? How much would you pay for this?

Pretty much I'm just very overwhelmed and not sure what bike I should be getting.
Any input is greatly appreciated Big Grin
(06-15-2021, 04:59 AM)Nyrux Wrote:  Hey all,

I'm new to cycling and I want to upgrade my very heavy, unfun to ride, city bike, because I want to get into cycling some more!
I plan to ride mostly on asphalt, but also the occasional forest road/light gravel road.

So optimally I'd like a Triban GRVL 120 which would be kinda my budget limit with 630€.
Since that bike doesn't seem to be available anywhere and other gravel bikes are way too expensive for my budget, I started looking at road bikes instead.