Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

11-30 cassette to 11-34
Ciao.
1. My road bike currently has 11-30t CS-HG31 8 speed cassette, but I'd like to have one that is a tiny bit better for biking up the hills. Would 11-34t do the work? Can I go with the same cassette model CS-HG31 and its 11-34 version or is there a better option? Are there any concerns in terms of compatibility? I know that these are simple questions, but I'm simply exhausted from studies and can't go through with the research Confused Thanks.

2. How difficult is the cassette swapping process considering that I'm a bike repair newbie?
(05-14-2020, 09:41 AM)ManBearPig Wrote:  Ciao.
1. My road bike currently has 11-30t CS-HG31 8 speed cassette, but I'd like to have one that is a tiny bit better for biking up the hills. Would 11-34t do the work? Can I go with the same cassette model CS-HG31 and its 11-34 version or is there a better option? Are there any concerns in terms of compatibility? I know that these are simple questions, but I'm simply exhausted from studies and can't go through with the research Confused Thanks.

2. How difficult is the cassette swapping process considering that I'm a bike repair newbie?
I know of no reason why you can't use the same model with the larger cog. A 34T cog will certainly make it easier to go uphill. Apart from a wrench to remove the axle nuts, you'll need a cassette removal tool and a chain whip. The chain whip is necessary because you can't unscrew the retaining ring with the removal tool without the whole cassette turning. I turn the bike upside-down, remove the axle nuts and then, pulling the derailleur cage backward, lift the wheel out. You could remove the chain but I prefer to simply pull the cage of the derailleur back so the cassette is free to be lifted out with the wheel.