Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon

Accessories recommendations for a new commuter?
Even though I'm WFH for now, I plan to start commuting by bike for the first time when we eventually return to the office. I'd also like to get extra mileage with some recreational riding on weekends and while occasionally running errands. Hoping to get some recommendations for a new-to-me Bianchi Milano I bought on Craigslist. What are your preferences, and what do you like to keep on you when you commute?

I'm completely new to all of this, but I tried to think of what I will eventually need. I'd greatly appreciate your opinions on the following list:
What have I missed? Might there be some issues with compatibility? What are some better alternatives that aren't super expensive? I don't mind investing more now if it will really be worth it down the line. Did I cheap out on some items too much? Are some of them a waste of money?

I promise I'm not an Amazon, Costco, or REI shill. With so many different items, it was just easier to find most of them in a couple of places, but I'm not restricted/loyal to any particular vendor/site if you have recommendations elsewhere.

Thanks for taking the time to read what has become a pretty long post, and thanks in advance for your suggestions!
(03-30-2020, 09:56 AM)8jk8 Wrote:  Even though I'm WFH for now, I plan to start commuting by bike for the first time when we eventually return to the office. I'd also like to get extra mileage with some recreational riding on weekends and while occasionally running errands. Hoping to get some recommendations for a new-to-me Bianchi Milano I bought on Craigslist. What are your preferences, and what do you like to keep on you when you commute?

I'm completely new to all of this, but I tried to think of what I will eventually need. I'd greatly appreciate your opinions on the following list: