Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Where to start? rigid to suspension [Solved]
Hello bike riders! Newbie here, happy to join.
Visited fam during the holidays. Found my old Fuji mountain bike in the attic. Took it back home to use for weekend rides and occasional commuting. It has rigid fork. I prefer to swap it for suspension fork. I want it to be a DIY project. My first bike build in other words. Might get overwhelming at start. So where do I begin? Anyone here has done rigid to suspension fork conversion?
Thanks in advance.
I rode a couple of bikes with low end suspension forks, and these mostly serve to absorb your energy. Sure, they filter out some bumps but it's a too high price to pay (for me, at least). A good fork can be amazing and help a lot. I still prefer rigid forks, though, more of a cyclocross rider (yeah, so I'm biased), so I'd just put on wider tyres and lower the pressure a bit Wink

Still, good luck with that! Replacing a fork and headset is something I have not done yet (I paid a shop to install the headset when I bought my tourer frame, the rest I did myself).
(12-27-2019, 07:28 PM)Lemon Wrote:  .... Found my old Fuji mountain bike in the attic. Took it back home to use for weekend rides and occasional commuting. It has rigid fork. I prefer to swap it for suspension fork. I want it to be a DIY project. My first bike build in other words. Might get overwhelming at start. So where do I begin? Anyone here has done rigid to suspension fork conversion?
Thanks in advance.

I haven't done a conversion but considered going from the suspension fork on my Schwinn 700C hybrid, to a rigid fork. I also considered putting a quality sprung fork on it but because the Schwinn was a low end bike, the cost of a decent sprung fork would be as much, or more than, the bike cost. Hardly worth it.