Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon

Problem after swapping chain rings
Hi everyone

I'm new here and I'm a novice bike mechanic so be gentle with me ;-)

Basically I have two bikes, ad old rigid frame MTB (must be a late 90's model) and my entry level road bike. I still want to use the MTB for family bike rides and pulling the little kids in the trailer I have. But, the thread in the drive side crank arm sheared and now I can't install a peddle in it. The chain rings and crank arm are fixed together so it's not a simple case of fitting a new arm so knew I'd need a new crank set. It's a 28/38/48 set and I'd bee watching quite a few on eBay when a chance conversation with my neighbour revealed that he had a scrapper of a MTB he said I could canablise. This was a more modern bike than mine, full suspension and all that but in a real state. I suppose a better man than me would have opted to repair that using my old bike as a donor. Except I like the rigid frame, not bothered about suspension and to be honest I can't fit a child seat to the back of a full suspension bike anyway.

So, the chain ring set on this donor bike was also 28/38/48 so that'sa start. I removed the rings of both bikes (thoroughly cleaning the donor) and compared them. Same size, same gap between the rings and both square taper. The donor part looks spot on, without any damage so I went ahead and fitted it.