Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Tapered or spline?
ok. basically I jacked up one of my crank arms.(non drive) it was truvativ touro set that I have been riding with for about 5 years or so. Id like to keep my bike looking how Im used to it. I know im weird. its a motobecane phantom cx. nothing much but I love it. anyway. I cant find a square taper crankset or even the correct size bottom bracket 110.5 (mines a rpm 7420) but what I can find is a power spline set. and a powerspline 113or118. I dont even know if the taper or spline makes a difference or how much of a difference the bottom bracket size from 110.5 to 113. would the power spline happen to set up into the crankset deeper compared to the tapered so that I wouldnt have to adjust as much? or am I just screwed and need to stop whining about adjusting my gears?
Hm, usually the mid-to-lower end Shimano stuff should be available in almost all possible lengths. If it is not available in your size consider that the number you are referring to is the axle length in mm (most likely...). Take a look at the chain line and the front dérailleur and think about what would happen if you moved the crankset a mm or so in either direction: does it mess up the chainline or does it make adjusting the FD impossible? A mm is not going to mess up your knees more than they already are (I guess, but I'm not a medical doctor), nor will you even feel it. You can move the cleats or put a washer on one of the pedal axles to move the foot back, though.