Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Shimano 105 rear derrailleur problem
Hi All!

I'm new to this bike repair/tunning thing and I have one question. After tuning my L tension (small sprocket) and setting the tension on my derrailleur shifter cable when I go to the biggest cog (H tension) I'm not getting the full range of motion and it stops at the third from the biggest cog. It seems as though the shifter should be able to provide a wider tension but it does not. Is this normal/acceptable with these sorts of derrailleurs? Or am I doing something wrong?

Thanks!
You should read the Shimano tech documents.

H/L are NOT tension; they are limits.

Sounds like you have everything messed up, so start over. Put the chain on the largest cog in front, disconnect the cable to the rear derailluer, which will float the rear derailluer to the high limit. Adjust the high (H) limit screw so that the chain runs smoothly in top (littlest cog) gear. Now with your hand move the rear derailleur towards the middle of the range, and shift the front to the smallest chainring (while pedalling). Now manually push and hold the rear derailleur as far as it will go towards the wheel so that it is in the lowest (largest cog) gear; adjust the low (L) limit screw so that the chain runs smoothly. Shift the front to largest chainring again, and let the rear derailleur float out to top gear. Reconnect the cable; pull it tight, but not tight enough to cause the rear derailleur to move. Now shift through the range of gears, making sure that you can get to the biggest and smallest cogs.

If you have indexed shifters, now shift into the middle gear at the back, and using the cable adjustment screw line up things so that the chain is silent.

If you messed with the B-screw also; read the tech docs on how to adjust.

read, re-read, and read a third time before messing with things.