Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon

Too much grease in freewheel?
Before reading: I have no experience with bikes. this is my first one of the decade. and of course i started with a restoration project instead of a cheap one.

well, Is there such thing as too much grease in a freewheel? Should I have used oil? Or is the short spinning distance normal?

short: if I hold it up (sans-wheel) and give it a good spin, it turns 1/4~1/2 turn only. Is that normal?

long history: Got a 12yr old bike (Novara Ponderosa, just because it had a shimano biopace that i wanted to try). Apart from grime on ALL parts and a little rust on some cables the bike is like new.

So I proceeded to some restoration
- dismantled the whole bike
- cleaned everything with simply green, water, brushes (bike still has original chromed parts with no defects whatsoever)
- opened everything i could figure out how (this forum was a great help to fiddle with the rear deraileur)
- applied a generous amount of polylube 1000 on all internal parts.
- got new chains

It's looking so good that i will not even bother with the small rust on the cables for now.

all fine ... BUT:

the rear freewheel, only piece i couldn't open at first, was turning 1/4 of a turn when i spin the back wheel with it not touching the ground. It was so bad that when i stopped the bike, it pushed the chain forward after a while, right onto the frame, instead of... well... freewheeling.

So I took it to a shop to finally remove it from the wheel. Opened it up (all 70 bearings came loose, of course). cleaned with simply green, rubbed with alcohol, generous mount of polylube 1000, assembled.

now it's the same, or worse Sad

If i hold it up and give a good spin (without the rear wheel attached), I still see the 1/4~1/2 turn only. Is that normal?