Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

I cant find anything similar to this freewheel - how do i remove it?
Please, can anyone tell me what kind of freewheel/ cassette I have - its on an '89-'91(?) peugeot Aspin road bike if thats any help.

Pictures are here: the mysterious freewheel

Which tool do I need to remove it? (I have got as far as "some kind of removal 'nut' type thing and maybe a chain whip" but I understand that there are as many different types as there are teeth on an alligator so specifics would be great)

One of the spokes has gone on the drive side. I have the spoke now, just no tools.

I'm a complete bike maintenance beginner but I don't really want to pay someone £30 to do it when the bike cost £28 - I'd rather buy the tools and spend the time to learn how to sort it out myself (in fact its a bit of a 'learn bike fixing' project bike).

Thanks.
I believe you have a helicomatic freewheel (actually an early version of a free hub.)

More info is here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/stronglight/sets/72157604719497074/

It looks like these guys sell the tool: http://www.yellowjersey.org/helico.html

Last resort in channel lock pliers, but you risk destroying the lockring.
DaveM, that's fantastic, it looks like just the thing, now to get my hands on one of those handy looking tools.

Does anyone happen know where I can get one in the UK?
Ok, I used a cloth to cover the teeth of a normal set of pliers and the lock ring came off easily and I dont appear to have damaged it at all.

Its all very greasy and dirty and I want to clean it, also when I turn the freewheeling mechanism it sounds gritty. The previous owner of the bike didn't really look after it and seems to have decided that chain oil is the solution to everything so everything id coated in a mixture of oil and dirt.