Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Rear Wheel Not Centering In Frame
I have a Schwinn Sprint I am restoring (early 80's). I disassembled the front and rear bearings and cleaned and greased them. The rear wheel needed truing so I took it to my local shop (afraid to attempt on my own!). When I got it back, I reinstalled the wheel and I can't get it to center. I can center with the lower frame, but when I do the top is off by 3/4 inch or so.

This is my first attempt at disassembling a rear wheel so did I do something wrong or is it because the wheel was trued incorrectly?

[attachment=61]
[attachment=62]
One of a couple things probably happened:<br />
1. You moved some of the axle spacers from the left side to the right side. Can't see the axle great in the picture, but from what I can see it looks ok. If you only took apart one side of the axle, there's really no way for this to happen.
2. When the shop trued the wheel, they messed up the "dish" meaning that the rim is no longer centered over the axle. Possible if they really weren't careful.
3. The frame is a little tweaked and someone previously re-dished the wheel to adjust for the fact. I've done this on older beat up bikes. The frame is off so you adjust the wheel to correct for the frame. If you put that wheel into another straight frame, it will then be off center. When the shop trued your wheel, they "corrected" the dish so now the frame tweak is revealed.
Fixes:<br />
- If the shop is easy to get to, take the wheel back to the shop and ask them to check the dish. Preferably, take the frame with you so they can see what's happening.<br />
- If you have another bike you can fit this wheel into, see if it centers in that frame or if it is still off. If it centers, it's probably the frame that's tweaked.<br />