Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

NEXT 26" Women's Power Climber - some questions/issues
Hello, all. I am a newbie here and also getting into riding a mountainbike. We have a tight budget, so hubby got me early Christmas gift of the NEXT Power Climber. Great bike for the price, really. I know it is nothing fancy, but still happy to have a bike!

We already switched out the seat, which was one of the only gripes about this bike, especially considering the price. Thing is, I do not see any pre-drilled holes for mounting a water bottle cage. I have seen other sites that show just possible compatible cages, but I have only seen one showing that it was mounted on the vertical handlebar post. Any thoughts?

I am also quite new to a bike with twisting 18-speed index shifters. Any suggestions on smooth and proper usage? I took "her" out for a spin today for almost an hour at our local park, which has some slight inclines and declines and a bit of rocky terrain, for just over one mile on each ride around the park perimeter. I faired pretty well for my first time back on a bike in many, many years.

I am having knee surgery this Thursday and plan on using biking as a great way to rehab. I may even become a bit of a fanatic and start finding some trails to ride! Smile More than anything, it just felt great to ride today... It was the first time in a long time that I could clear my head.

My only other questions are:
1. Any suggestions for reasonably priced, quality helmet?
2. Suggestions for excellent security lock
3. Suggestions for replacing pedals/cranks? (Not a time-pressing issue, but would like to start researching)

Any help/recommendations are greatly appreciated from this novice!! :-) Happy Holidays!