Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Front Derailleur Shifting
I am a newbie here and still stuck in coaster brake mentality. I have a new Schwinn Avenue 21 speed with Shimano 7 shifter, it came in a box and I assembled it (think again coaster brake mentality). OK she went together fine with no parts left over, however she will not shift UP onto the middle chain ring (one and three work fine, and she shifts down on all three chain rings just fine). To get to two I must shift up to three and then down to two and that works fine, So, is it the cable tension or the high/low switch? Any and all suggestions gratefully accepted.
Your cable tension is too low. There should be a barrel adjuster where the cable outer goes into the shifter body. Unscrew this to increase cable tension. Do this until it shifts nicely into the middle ring, but still goes into the smaller ring easily (if you over-do it, screw it back in a bit)
(02-05-2010, 01:21 PM)JonB Wrote:  Your cable tension is too low. There should be a barrel adjuster where the cable outer goes into the shifter body. Unscrew this to increase cable tension. Do this until it shifts nicely into the middle ring, but still goes into the smaller ring easily (if you over-do it, screw it back in a bit)

OK will try it, and to be sure it is unscrew to increase tension.
(02-05-2010, 01:24 PM)vabear Wrote:  
(02-05-2010, 01:21 PM)JonB Wrote:  Your cable tension is too low. There should be a barrel adjuster where the cable outer goes into the shifter body. Unscrew this to increase cable tension. Do this until it shifts nicely into the middle ring, but still goes into the smaller ring easily (if you over-do it, screw it back in a bit)

OK will try it, and to be sure it is unscrew to increase tension.