Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the Latest Giveaway coming soon

I put stronger bearings and axles in my wheels
I am a little taller than the average cyclist, and a little fatter. Which makes me heavier than a lot of cyclists. I ride longer distances than many cyclists, and a lot of my riding is on rough tracks. When I started riding fat bikes, I would bend or break the axles in the back wheels. The hubs had cup and cone bearings, with freewheels.

I am not really that heavy. Many people are heavier than me. I believe it is a design fault. In the wide hubs of fat bikes, they still use the same thickness axles as they used on narrower hubs. Then freewheels get more gears, making the leverage on the axle so much, that axles bend and break easily.

I made an adapter which reduced the bending of the axle. This depended on the rigidity of the frame. I found out frames are not completely rigid, but flex a little. https://forums.bikeride.com/thread-8031.html

I also found out, even if you stop the axle bending, the cones still wear out rapidly.

I spent a ridiculous amount of time constantly repairing my bike.

So I inquired if I could buy cartridge bearings which fit the hubs, to replace cup and cone bearings. I found out I could.

The ideal bearings for my hubs are 6200 2RS. These have a 30mm outside diameter, a 10mm inside diameter, and are 9mm wide. They also have rubber seals, to prevent water getting in.

Not all hubs are the same. Anyone doing this, should check their hubs.

With some hubs, it is relatively easy to remove the cups. With other hubs, it might be difficult.