Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Replacement components for 7-Speed Shimano STX drivetrain(1994 Specialized Rockhopper
Hi all, first post here. I recently got back into mountain biking after dusting off the 1994 Rockhopper Sport I purchased new when I was a teenager. I've been doing repairs along the way, learning as I go. My background is in auto repair, so learning how to wrench on bikes has quickly become a new hobby for me.

The bike still has it's original Shimano STX drivetrain(aside from a chain that was replaced years ago), and I want to replace/upgrade the cassette, freehub, and chain. The rear hub is a Shimano MC30. I have already serviced the rear axle and freehub(thanks to the repair guide videos on this site), and it's working, but clearly tired after 25+ years of service.

Before servicing, the bike made an audible rotational clunk in the rear axle while coasting, bad enough that I could feel it in the seat while riding on the street. The noise only occurred while coasting without load on the drivetrain. Backpedaling made it worse. I put the bike on the stand and noticed a significant wobble in the cassette while the rear wheel was rotating. Long story short, during the servicing, I accidentally left out what I now know is called a cassette cog spacer. It's 1.2mm thick.