Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon

COLSON TANDEM BIKE REAR STEERING
Has anyone any info about a Colson (1930's) tandem bike with steering at the rear cockpit? I will try to get a photo posted. Not my bike, but I might buy it. Steering is accomplished via rods and chains.

General Note: I work in a hospital and we are trying our best with less. Please stay home if at all possible; work, food, gas, medical are necessities, but too many people are out for no reason and stand the chance of becoming infected or infecting others. Always wear a mask (anything is better than nothing) and gloves when in public. Thanks!

Take care,
Jesper
Take care,
Jesper

"I am become Death, the destroyer of bicycles." NJS
Photos of the Colson Rear Steering Tandem Bike mid '30s.

Attached Files Image(s)

Take care,
Jesper

I am trying to find out from the present owner any info about this bike, but he bought as a restoration project and never really researched, nor restored. Bars, pedals (front anyways), and saddles are not original. Not sure how age was determined by owner (1933-1937?); definitely old with the skip tooth gears.
Take care,
Jesper

This is a gem, Jesper! It does look pretty decent and fresh for a senior bike.
I did a quick google research - 1933 would be my guess. There are some details that stand out, such as the oval shaped detail on the top tube. In between the front saddle and rear handlebar.

You might find some useful information in this old post: https://thecabe.com/forum/threads/pictures-wanted-1933-colson-tandem.47724/
Autobahn
(04-07-2020, 08:58 AM)G_M Wrote:  This is a gem, Jesper! It does look pretty decent and fresh for a senior bike.
I did a quick google research - 1933 would be my guess. There are some details that stand out, such as the oval shaped detail on the top tube. In between the front saddle and rear handlebar.