Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Frankenstein bike help
So before I start, understand that I'm new to bike terms and may sound dumb but I need some help!
I recently decided I wanted to buy a bike on Craigslist, it was only $30 (laughs) aand I knew it needed fixing up but after getting it and really looking at it I realize whoever "tried" to fix this bike had no idea what they were doing.

The only identification I have for it is a little duck looking logo sticker thing on the front of the frame that says Raleigh. I found serial number on bottom and one number that was P1013-5. The frame is still in good shape but its been painted and I have no idea what kind of bike it is. Normally this wouldn't matter, but I got to looking at it and realized I have a 9 speed rear cassette with an 8 speed derailleur and one 8 speed shifter thats different altogether from the other shifter. And both shifters act lie someone poured jam in them. I also have a Schwinn seat and nothing anywhere on the bike to determin what parts are supposed to be there...

Now this bike was only $30 so I'm not mad at all, but I have no idea where to start. I don't want to spend a lot on it, but I need new shifters regardless... I just don't know if it would be better to keep 9 speed cassette and buy a 9 speed derailleur with shifters or to buy 8 speed cassette with old derailleur and new shifters. I just don't know what bike it is to determin what it was originally meant to be. I'm just looking for the cheapest route.

Sorry about the long story, any help would be wonderful.

Edit: My budget (if I can get away with it) is like $70-$80 i know I'm a cheapo, but this is a $30 bike. I wish I knew if this was a walmart special or if its actually a good quality bike worth it to really fix up.
Pictures are absolutely required.