Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Hard riding bike?
For years I rode a Huffy mountain bike two miles to work and then home. Don't remember the model number but it was a solid frame, 21 speed, 26" bike that rode like a dream and never made me tired. Last month it was stolen.

Then a few weeks back someone gave me a Mongoose RX-75 26" bike, same 21 speeds (same sprocket teeth numbers in fact), fully suspended. It is in very nice shape, nevertheless, I took it into my garage and spent a day lubing it and doing all the proper adjustments I could think of (while I'm no bike scientist, I'm a pretty good mechanic). I set the saddle adjustments and bars to fit me, checked the derailleurs and wheel bearings and so on. On my bike stand, the thing runs beautifully.

But I find it quite hard to ride! Even using my favorite gear choices it makes my legs tire quickly, and I feel hip pain when I finish a ride. So I tried several saddle types from flat standard to the nose-less type. I find the nose-less type most comfortable, but it didn't help the ride any. I also didn't like the bounciness of the rear shock/spring. So I removed it and put in a solid strut. That didn't help or hurt (though the bike feels stronger with it). This Mongoose is noticeably heavier then my last bike, but not so that it would seem to make much difference.

So for you guys that ARE bike scientists, am I overlooking anything about setting up these Mongooses?

Thanks for any suggestions!
Given that the wheel bearings, BB, RD bearings and chain are in good shape, tires are the biggest cause of drag and can completely change the feel and amount of effort required.