Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Repair or Replace
Hi Smile

I'm a college student who uses a bicycle as my main mode of transportation.

I received a new Schwinn from my parent's for my 14th birthday, and am now 19. A long story not-typed, the bike hasn't been very well cared for, and has seen a pretty high (IMO) amount of wear.

Now I'm about to start a job, and need a bike to get to work. My dad is adamant that it won't be a problem to fix up my current bike, and isn't going to help me find a new one. I'd like some feedback on how I should go about parts searching (my first motion is to search Amazon) or whether I should look for a new bike.

Things that are wrong/broken (I'll update with images when I get out of class):
-Back wheel is missing spokes / warped
-Back axle is from a donor bike after the original broke, and is bent
-No front brakes (at all)
-Back brakes need replacement
-Rear derailleur is secondhand and grindes the gears sometimes
-The bearing in the crank (pedals) are shot, pedals are physically 'loose' and make pedaling difficult.
-Both tires are original = worn, and cracked

My plan (or order of replacing parts):
-Replace back axle.
-Replace the bearings in the crank
-Replace the brakes, both
-Replace the back wheel
-Replace both tires
-Replace derailleurs

Any input? I found a page on amazon for purchasing a "bottom bracket" which looks like something that would replace the bearings in my crank altogether? I'm now sure how I would tell which size to buy either.

Thanks,
-BBX
Just saying that you have a Schwinn is pretty generic. In order to be more specific about what you might do and what it might cost, we would need more info like model and pictures.

You have a good list going, but replacing those items and not addressing the warped wheel, tires and pedals does not make sense.