Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon

Bad History With Crank Arms
Hi All,

Just looking for some advice and knowledge since I am relatively new to mountain biking and am having a few problems.

I have recently bought a Raleigh AT30 MTB to get a bit of practice on the trails. After riding if for about 4 weeks I found the left crank arm came loose. I had it tightened and decided to carry a spare allen key with me just in case it happened again. Low and behold it did, in fact it happens about 20 minutes after I do it up.

This isn't the first time this has happened to me. My last bike was a Trax Fearless (again a bike to try and get me into MTBing. I had the same problem with the left crank arm coming loose and falling off. I had this changed and had loctite used to keep it on. After about an hour of riding it came loose again.

My question is, as I have had terrible luck with this, could my problem be down to how I ride my bike or is it purely bad luck?

I tend to ride in low gears (granny gears as I call them), I hate the feeling of pedaling and going nowhere so I use higher gears where I can actually feel myself doing something and going somewhere. Not as problematic as I may think, but I also tend to point my toes outwards when riding, I doubt this actually affects anything but just a bit more info.

If anyone can give me advice or suggest a long lasting fix I would be grateful.
this was my reply to a previous question on a similar subject, most of it applies to you, especially getting the new one tight, very tight, forget torque settings, very tight...
This is a common problem and as others have said, you need a new / replacement left hand crank arm, not a new crankset, unless you have other problems.
The thread and the axle are fine, as probably is the nut.