Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Wheel Building?
Looking for a book that covers wheel building for beginners, I have no experience but would like to give it a try just for fun.
Any suggestions?
These are the resources I used when starting:

http://sheldonbrown.com/wheelbuild.html
http://www.peterwhitecycles.com/spokes.asp

also see: http://forums.bikeride.com/thread-3834.html

I use Wheelsmith Spokes and Nipples; mostly SS14, though on a couple wheels I used DH13.
Nigel
Warning: WOT (wall of text)...

I can (and frequently do) recommend Roger Musson's book
http://www.wheelpro.co.uk/wheelbuilding/book.php
(only as pdf, free updates when available)
Also check out: http://www.sapim.be/index.php?st=checklist&taal=uk

Spokes: DT double butted (for everything except tandems, haven't built for those yet though). Aero spokes are nice to control spoke torsion and look fast. Used plain gauge for a snowflake last year (cheaper option and not built for durability, more for show and to have done that, but still round and true and rideable). Any other big brand (as Sapim or Wheelsmith) should be good.
Hubs: Depends. Mid-range Shimano stuff is inexpensive and sturdy and runs good enough if greased and set up properly.
Rims: Again it depends on use and money. Need to build a more aerodynamic wheelset for the new season, though some shops offer great deals (cost of parts for me about same as new set from them). Stay away from really cheap rims though, the joint is usually not well done and impossible to get in line (though sanding might help a bit).