Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon

Shimano RSX shifter help, triathlon bike
I am new to road bikes and recently bought a used trek 1220 for a triathlon. I work on cars so I am not totally clueless but have never worked on or owned a road bike.

I was fulling with the left shifter and took the allen head bolt off. I put the spring and some round metal washer back in. The bike shifts fine but the problem I am having is the big shifter does not return unless it is manually pushed back. I have taken it off and reinstalled it several times but it does the same thing. It will shift and work fine but like I said, the big handle has to go back manually. The little handle which i assume is the down shifter works ok.

I am doing a sprint triathlon in september. What do i need to do to get this bike ready?

I appreciate any help!
http://bikeride.com/rapid-fire-shifters/
Nigel
(07-31-2011, 06:08 AM)nfmisso Wrote:  http://bikeride.com/rapid-fire-shifters/

Those are different than the RSX I blasted them with wd 40 but this did not help. Now I cant get the front derailer to put move the chain to the biggest sprocket. Are these shifters toast? Is there an affordable replacement for an older bike like this?
WD40 !!!! well, you may as well purchase a new one. Keep WD40 away from all bicycle mechanisms.
Nigel
(08-01-2011, 02:53 AM)nfmisso Wrote:  WD40 !!!! well, you may as well purchase a new one. Keep WD40 away from all bicycle mechanisms.

Why? Every article I have read said to try wd40 first on all old rsx shifters to remove hardened gunk.

Is it hard to replace shifters? What ones could I use to replace these? Is it possible to go to a bar end style?