Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

First time changing shifter pods, any tips?
Hey all, I'm swapping out my circa 1999 Shimano 9 speed XT rapid fire plus shifters for 2010 Shimano 9 speed XTR rapid fires. My entire drivetrain and v-brake set up is already XTR and the XT shifters have had a great run, but they have been "missing" regularly now and they have come to the end of their run. This is my first attempt at putting on new shifter pods. i have really nice Gore Ride On cables already installed on my bike and would like to keep those as they are and in place. Is this possible? (not that the XTR cables are terrible, but the Gore's are sealed and feel like butter no matter the conditions). Also, how difficult of a job is this? I'm pretty competent mechanically, I have all the tools needed, I just need to dive in once the shifters arrive. (By the 21st or 22nd I'm hoping). Any tips by those that have done this would be appreciated. Any Do's or Do Not's will help. Thanks.
Ok, so what I've gathered from Alex's video's and other web searching, it seems fairly simple; 1) Shift to smallest gear to release tension in the cable, 2) Undo derailleur cable bolt 3) snip cable just before the area that was pinched in the bolt 4) pull cable thru and push out (hopefully its that easy on these shifters) of shifter pod. 5) remove bar end, grip and slide off old shifter. 6) reverse process to install new one, looks like I need to install the new cables then. Did I miss anything?
Shouldn't need to fit new cables unless you want to.
Study the cable fitting on the Rapidfires and they may just "un-hook"?
Not sure about yours but line up the slots of the adjuster and lift out cable inner. Then the nipple may also lift out of a slot?