Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take part in the February Giveaway for a Reflective Backpack & Spine Protector from RiderBag


Cutting brake/housing
#1
my bike rear brake cable got cut off :/ , but i just bought a universal brake cable that comes with housing too. but my question is. what should i use to cut the cable and housing after i measured the length of my old one? side cutter? or should i use my old housing?
  Reply
#2
Gah! Just saw you opened another thread for this... here is my repost.

I usually go to the LBS with the bike, they estimate the correct length, cut the housing, (roughly) clean the cut and sometimes throw in the ferrules for free. Be sure to use good cable cutters (or special hosing cutters) and tidy up the cut with a file (to make it flat) and an awl (to open the housing again).

Oh, and if the old housing is still in a good condition you can use it. Since housing is not really expensive I usually go for new housing.
  Reply
#3
(03-17-2010, 04:03 AM)Joe_W Wrote:  Gah! Just saw you opened another thread for this... here is my repost.

I usually go to the LBS with the bike, they estimate the correct length, cut the housing, (roughly) clean the cut and sometimes throw in the ferrules for free. Be sure to use good cable cutters (or special hosing cutters) and tidy up the cut with a file (to make it flat) and an awl (to open the housing again).

Oh, and if the old housing is still in a good condition you can use it. Since housing is not really expensive I usually go for new housing.

Big Grin sorry, i just joined and accidentally posted this thread on wrong topic, but got moved by a mod.

but yeah, Thanks but should i use side cutter instead of cable cutter?
  Reply
#4
Use a good cable cutter for the housing for sure. Side cutter usually squish it too much. Here's a video that may also help: http://bikeride.com/replace-cable-housings/
  Reply
#5
(03-17-2010, 03:35 PM)Alex Ramon Wrote:  Use a good cable cutter for the housing for sure. Side cutter usually squish it too much. Here's a video that may also help: http://bikeride.com/replace-cable-housings/

what if i use side cutter, then use an awl?
  Reply
#6
You could give it a try like that, but I would use some old cable housing first to see if it works.
  Reply
#7
(03-17-2010, 03:58 PM)Alex Ramon Wrote:  You could give it a try like that, but I would use some old cable housing first to see if it works.

oh ok thanks man! btw should i use my old housing? my old housing is still in good condition, no bents etc. or should i replace a new one?
  Reply
#8
If the old one is still in good shape you should be able to use it. Drop some light oil like triflow into the housing before you slide in the new inner wire.
  Reply
#9
oo ok thank you very much man! helped me a lot to improve my bike.
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread
Author
Replies
Views
Last Post
 
6,906
02-24-2016, 11:09 PM
Last Post: ajstevo
 
5,872
05-03-2013, 03:40 PM
Last Post: jimkjr
 
4,112
03-13-2013, 12:46 PM
Last Post: RBurrelli
 
31,972
05-16-2011, 01:57 PM
Last Post: melon
 
dykestra
6,333
08-08-2010, 10:41 PM
Last Post: Surly LHT
 
12,036
04-24-2010, 01:58 PM
Last Post: trevgbb

Forum Jump:

[-]
10 Latest Posts
Is Presta valve lock nut useful?
Today 12:12 PM
How to stay safe while biking?
Yesterday 11:28 PM
What size bike should I get?
Yesterday 03:44 PM
Fausto Coppi Gilco frameset
03-04-2021 10:23 PM
Freehub body change compatibility
03-04-2021 12:17 PM
What kind of frame do I have here?
03-03-2021 01:07 PM
Sensah Empire road groupset
03-03-2021 08:47 AM
In need of a Hybrid of Road bike for com...
03-03-2021 08:40 AM
2021 Pro Road Cycling
03-03-2021 08:35 AM
Looking for bikes on Craigslist
03-02-2021 10:14 PM

[-]
Top 5 Posters This Month
no avatar 1. Jesper
14 posts
no avatar 2. Painkiller
10 posts
no avatar 3. Criminal
7 posts
no avatar 4. ILv2MTB
7 posts
no avatar 5. JoJoJo
4 posts