Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the August Giveaway to Win the SAVA Aurora V3.0 Carbon Road Bike

E-Bike Power Goes OUT
Exclamation 
I have had a ViVi MT20 e-bike for over a year.I recently changed the worn out brake pads.

With a fully charged battery, I rode on throttle only for about a mile. After that, the power went completely out.

I turned the key on and off. The LED lights came back on. I twisted the throttle and went about 10 feet and the bike completely shut off.again.

Any idea what might be the problem?

Thank you!
@NarrackRider

Disclaimer: I have no experience with ebikes other than their general components that are the same as on standard bikes. I do have electrical and electronic experience on systems that are not bike related.

First, is the bike under warranty? If so, stop doing anything and get it taken care of by the dealer/manufacturer. That would also apply to working on the brakes yourself (not sure if pads have any coverage due to normal wear and tear) since doing any work might void some or all of the warranty if not performed by an authorized shop.

Second, have you ever had any issues before working on the brakes? I assume, but correct me if I am wrong, that there is no wiring connected to the brake system, and/or you did not have to disconnect any wiring at all to perform the brake work.

Third, without knowing how many times you have charged that battery pack, your charging habits (e.g. running battery until nearly dead or dead, not fully charging the battery, leaving charger connected once fully charged, etc.), the conditions that the battery and the bike have been exposed to (e.g. high/low temperatures, moisture, vibration, dropping, etc.), and/or the expected lifetime/max amount of recharges of the battery it is difficult to say where the problem exists or what might be causing it.