Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

pedal crankset axle squeak
It's making a light squeaking noise when I pedal. Not sure i want to take that apart, but maybe I should. It does not have excessive free play. it is NOT the pedals. It just started a few weeks ago, but maybe I could not hear it previously.

This bike is OLD. 1950s or 60s. When I found it in 2013 it was laying in someone's backyard missing wheels and seat. Handle bars are slightly too low, but cant break loose that adjusting bolt. It sat in my garage for several years until I found a seat and wheels/tires. Then I started riding it weekly, about 7 miles a week.

Im thinking for now just wait and see, but if it starts making more noise or the axle free play increases, I should try and take it apart.

I really like this old bike and the longer it lasts the better.

Yes the seat looks bad, but that width is great for me. Basket I added for carrying home large watermelon.

Im hoping it wont catastrophically fail during one of my trips.

Attached Files Image(s)

Needs fresh grease probably. If so, that squeaking is from friction.
Your story reminds me of my past. Upon discharge from the Navy I found an old Schwinn Corvette and used it for transportation for a year. The seat post and stem were rusted into the frame and I rode it as it was. It, too, had a squeaky bottom bracket. All I did was drip some heavy oil into the bearings by laying the bike on the non-drive side. Applied a ring of oil around the outer circumference and let gravity pull it in. After a few minutes I flipped the bike over and repeated the process. Seemed to work well enough, and thereafter at the end of each month I applied more oil this way. The bearings went the distance and I subsequently sold it to a guy that was going to restore it.