Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the Latest Giveaway coming soon

What kind of bike is this, what are its pros and cons?
Hello all, new to the forums. I was hoping J can help in identification on the bike our family has in the basement. I have no knowledge about bikes nor do I know how to bike well but I would like to start.

Now I don't expect it to be amazing as my family aren't cyclists but I think it is usable and in good condition. Hoping that with a new tweaks it can be modernized instead of buying a new bike altogether. It strikes to me like some sort of hybrid because of the tires but someone said it was an old mtb. First I would like to use it for commuting to work, and eventually do longer rides city to mountains (bikepacking in general)

I was hoping people here could help me identify what kind of bike it is, what are its strengths and weaknesses, if there is anything I should replace.

And in the future, for my goals I mentioned above, should I look into replacing some parts (eg the tires) etc. I will bring it into the repair shop for maintenance so just think about the parts. Btw it is a 3-7 gear system.

(05-25-2021, 07:56 AM)Atourist Wrote:  Hello all, new to the forums. I was hoping J can help in identification on the bike our family has in the basement. I have no knowledge about bikes nor do I know how to bike well but I would like to start.

Now I don't expect it to be amazing as my family aren't cyclists but I think it is usable and in good condition. Hoping that with a new tweaks it can be modernized instead of buying a new bike altogether. It strikes to me like some sort of hybrid because of the tires but someone said it was an old mtb. First I would like to use it for commuting to work, and eventually do longer rides city to mountains (bikepacking in general)