Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Regreasing
So i just bought a new 2019 bmx ive had it for a little over three months. Should I regrease the bike so it can feel fresh or should I leave the old grease? it's dumb but I'm still new to working on my bike. I have most necessary tools to work on my bike. Any other type of advice for the future or something like that would be immensely appreciated. Thank you Smile
Good day.
3+ months isn't that much and I wouldn't touch it yet .. wait for 6 months minimum for a general greasing job. I'd suggest doing some greasing earlier only if your BMX regularly "sees" dust, mud and so on. Any of the parts causing issues currently?
Yes currently my front Axel has been stripped für to an unknown reason which renders my bike useless and there is one more thing. I think my headset has a problem because sometimes when I got steer it does sort of a small ding noise. I already if its my brake cable which it isnt so that worries me aswell.
(03-25-2020, 08:09 PM)Migz8125 Wrote:  Yes currently my front Axel has been stripped für to an unknown reason which renders my bike useless and there is one more thing. I think my headset has a problem because sometimes when I got steer it does sort of a small ding noise. I already if its my brake cable which it isnt so that worries me aswell.
You say you bought it new. From a bike shop? If so they should take care of the problems for you. But if you bought it used, then it does need some work. If it was me, I'd remove the axle from the front wheel to see what's wrong with it. If it has all the ball bearings and they're not rusty, grease them and put the axle back together, being careful not to overtighten the cones.