Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Bike distance help
Hi, I am relatively new to biking and have only done about 10 miles a day for a year now, with a few exceptions where I did 20 miles. I am looking to bike to my parent's house for Christmas eve which is about 90 miles away. So my question is do you guys think I could make it and/or will I be able to move afterward.
Hi banana, very impressive plan there! "Biking home for Christmas".
My first thoughts - in theory you can make it (might take too many hours), yet the aftermath will follow you throughout Christmas. You don't want to have leg pain + fatigue while spending magical Christmas time with your family. Therefore, please, don't do it now Smile Lets leave this 90 mile challenge for 2020!

Questions on the side
- How is your overall fitness level?
- How is the route? Flat, w/ some ups and downs?
- Were you planning to wear Santa Claus costume while biking? Big Grin
Merida Scultura 5000 (2015)
Merida Big Nine 400 (2019)
Biking home for Christmas, indeed ... keep us updated about your decision
"Uphill, downhill, I like that"
Did you do the 10 miles every day, as a commute? How long did it take you?

In general the 9 fold distance is a lot more. It would be impressive if you pull it off! If you want to do it, maybe split it in two days? Though the first few miles on the second day are hard. Tips and ideas: ride light, think about what you pack. Bring enough water and some snacks. Make sure to take several breaks, and take them soon enough! Stop for a light snack, some cake or so and a coffee. Don't set out too fast. Oh, and have a backup plan ready, like a train you could take or so.... You could use a bus / train for the first leg and then bike the rest, would also work.