Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Need help getting bike to work.
Hey guys, I am a newbie with bicycles and I dont know alot about them but I need help on getting a Bianchi racing bike to work. It is my uncle's old bike and it has ended up in my garage with the wheels, brakes, and chains unattached. There are also no nuts and bolts in sight, so i dont know how to deal with that problem either. Here are some pics. Any help is appreciated!
You'll need quick release skewers to fit the wheels: http://bikeride.com/remove-install-wheels/

You will also need some brakes and brake and gear cables.

And I've no idea what's going on with those handlebars. Big Grin

Nice frame though, I reckon early to mid 80s, and going by the stickers on the frame and forks, looks to be made of Columbus tubing. Well worth sorting out.
(08-09-2012, 11:01 PM)xerxes Wrote:  You'll need quick release skewers to fit the wheels: http://bikeride.com/remove-install-wheels/

You will also need some brakes and brake and gear cables.

And I've no idea what's going on with those handlebars. Big Grin

Nice frame though, I reckon early to mid 80s, and going by the stickers on the frame and forks, looks to be made of Columbus tubing. Well worth sorting out.

Thanks man. So how do i figure out what brakes and cables to buy??
cables are easy - if you are in the USA and black is OK; Bell brand at Wal-mart for less than $5- for a complete set: front and rear brakes and derailleurs. If you want white, any bicycle shop will sell to you for less than $20- Amazon is in between.

Brakes, once you have the wheels back on, you need to measure 'reach'. Scroll down in this article to the heading titled: "Reach"
http://sheldonbrown.com/calipers.html